Gallery

There has to be a first & What it’s all about

I’m no rookie blogger so I know that this is going out into the wide world of the blogosphere never to be seen by anyone for weeks or months, if ever, but there has to be a first post for any blog so here it is.

Now for the fun part – what it’s all about. I have lots of ideas, stored right up in the

I hate folding sheets

This is me – there are sooooo many ideas up there just waiting to come out!

tippy top of my little head – see – right up there. Ideas just waiting to come out, but what’s the fun of keeping them to myself?

Most of my ideas these days come from three motivation points:

  • Something for my grandchildren to enjoy (here or at their own houses)
  • Something to use up my scraps
  • Something to make my nest a little prettier or better organized

That’s it. It’s not complicated at all, right? Right! So, here we go. The inspiration for the name of this blog “I Hate Folding Sheets” came from, well, folding sheets this morning. The basic idea here will be to take dreaded tasks or spaces and turn them into something more pleasing.

My first project – the bathroom – shudder.
I’ve been working on my bathroom for a while now, and in the photos below, you can see where I’m headed and what remains to be done.

I live in an apartment, so I am somewhat limited as to what I can do with the space. The first photo is my shower curtain – I made it last year. It’s easy peasy – I’ll put directions up soon! If you can sew a straight line, you can make that curtain! The towels match the curtain – I always wanted a matchy-matchy bathroom like that. I decided to go with lavender as an accent color with the green, and I had pieces of it all through the house that I was able to bring in.

What still needs to be done? Well, if you look closely at the shower curtain pictures, you will see some blue paint in the corners of the walls, and if you look in my pantry, you’ll see the paint. I needed an edger that will attach to one of those extension pole thingies – I got that about 6 months ago…this weekend is it! It’s getting done.

I’m also not happy with the storage closet, which, as you can see is orderly to a degree, but I want it to be ‘pretty’ (if you’re a guy and you’ve read this far, that’s your problem! 🙂 ). I hung out on Pinterest this morning and found some solutions that will hit two goals at once – use up some fabric and other scrap supplies AND help organize. I’ll show you when I’m done. It’s a shift in my projects that are ‘hot’ right now, but I want to get this done. I’m also going to do something with that ugly hamper. It was my grandmothers so it has sentimental value (but little value otherwise, short of its purpose). I want to use it, but it needs some sort of face lift. since it’s January in Ohio, it’s not going to be spray paint. I’m still not sure what it’ll be. I’m also going to paint that shelf that sits on the vanity and ultimately I’d LOVE LOVE LOVE to frame in that mirror in some sort of temporary way that I can remove when I move.

Thanks for reading – if anyone IS reading! Hang in there for upcoming projects. I’m so excited to bring them to you!

Leave a comment